Saturday, December 31, 2011

Malaysia 2012 banknotes,Premium Set with match number and special folder

 Malaysia 2011 - 2012 banknotes,Collector's  match number set with special folder

Bank Negara Malaysia is pleased to announce the introduction of Malaysia's new currency series. Launched by the Prime Minister of Malaysia, YAB Dato' Sri Mohd Najib Tun Haji Abdul Razak today, the new currency series comprises newly designed banknotes and coins. The banknotes issued are in the denominations of RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20 and RM100 and will be available for circulation in the second half of 2012. The RM50 denomination banknote for the new currency series is already in circulation. For this new series, polymer substrate is used to make the RM1 and RM5 banknotes.

Bank Negara Malaysia is issuing commemorative banknotes to mark the introduction of the new currency series. Three types of commemorative banknote collections will be offered for sale as follows:
  • A collection of two banknotes (RM1 and RM5 denomination) - 500,000 sets priced at RM15.00 each.
  • A collection of a single banknote (RM20 denomination) - 500,000 sets priced at RM30.00 each.

  • A collection of six banknotes (RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20, RM50 and RM100 denominations) - 50,000 sets priced at RM300.00 each. For each set of this collection, all the banknote denominations will carry the same serial number.

Banknotes Design

The Obverse Side of the Banknote

All banknote denominations in the new series retain the portrait of the first Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Tuanku Abdul Rahman ibni Tuanku Muhammad, the national flower Rosa-sinensishibiscus (known locally as the 'Bunga Raya'), the face value of the banknote, the words 'Bank Negara Malaysia' as the issuing authority of the banknotes and patterns of traditional woven fabric the 'songket' which are in the background and edges of the banknote to reflect traditional Malaysian textile handicraft and embroidery. Other features include the tactile identification for the visual impaired, watermark portrait with pixel and highlighted numerals.

The Reverse Side of the Banknote

The reverse side of each banknote features different elements of nature, tradition, culture, flora, fauna and the economy that are distinctively Malaysian. The new banknotes also retain the Bank Negara Malaysia logo, serial numbers, Jawi wordings and songket weave patterns on the reverse side of the banknotes.

The motifs for each of denomination are as follows:

Denomination Icon

RM100 Mount Kinabalu and pinnacles rock formations of Gunung Api valley

RM50 Oil Palm and Biotechnology

RM20 The Hawksbill and Leatherback Turtle

RM10 Rafflesia

RM5         Rhinoceros Hornbill

RM1         'Wau Bulan' (Moon Kite)

The new series banknotes are legal tender and will co-circulate with the existing series. The existing series will be gradually phased out.

Bank Negara Malaysia is working closely with financial institutions, businesses and cash handling vendors to ensure a smooth transition to the new currency series. Vendors of cash handling machines will be given six months to calibrate their machines to ensure convenience for the use of the new banknotes.

Sales Outlets

The commemorative banknotes are available for sale from 22 December 2011 at Bank Negara Malaysia's headquarters (BNMLINK) and its branches located in Pulau Pinang, Johor Bahru, Kuala Terengganu, Kuching and Kota Kinabalu.

Appendix I

Specification for New Fourth Series Banknotes

Denomination Substrate Dimension Predominant Colour

RM100 Paper 150mm X 69mm Purple

RM50 Paper 145mm X 69mm Green-blue

RM20 Paper 145mm X 65mm Orange

RM10 Paper 140mm X 65mm Red

RM5 Polymer 135mm X 65mm Green

RM1 Polymer 120mm X 65mm Blue